My Favourite Google Chrome Browser Extensions

Craig McWha
3 min readAug 19, 2021

Extensions I use on my Chromebook to enhance productivity.

The Google homepage.
Photo by Christian Wiediger on Unsplash

Google Chrome is the world’s most popular web browser accounting for some 69% of the global market share. One of the reasons for Chrome’s popularity may be the multitude of browser extensions available. Browser extensions are small software packages that allow the user to customise their web browser. What follows is a list of my favourite and most used browser extensions.

Picture-in-Picture Extension (by Google)

This is one of my favourites, and to my chagrin most used, browser extensions. A procrastinator's worst nightmare, this little extension by Google allows you to watch a pop-out video player whilst you continue to browse or work away on your device. So, for example, I can watch Netflix in the corner of my screen whilst working away on this blog post, as shown below. Here I’m watching Star Trek: Deep Space Nine. Judge me on my writing, not my taste in movies!

Image courtesy of Author

Link to Text Fragment

This is a great little extension. Most of us are aware of how to copy and paste a webpage and create a hyperlink…

--

--

Craig McWha

Former rough sleeper, UK RAF veteran, graduate. Interested in society and social issues. A growing interest in tech stuff and Cyber Security.